Six Kingdoms Overview

Biology - High School


Table Of Contents: Six Kingdoms Overview

1. What Are the Six Kingdoms?
All organisms are classified into six different kingdoms—archaebacteria, eubacteria, protists, fungi, plants and animals.
2. Archaebacteria and Eubacteria
From an evolutionary perspective, archaebacteria and eubacteria are the simplest organisms, having evolved billions of years ago.
3. Protists
Protists are more complex organisms with a variety of characteristics. Scientists believe that protists evolved from bacteria.
4. Fungi, Plants and Animals
Fungi, plants and animals all evolved from different types of protists.